top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejsemugaza

No Worries I Got This, Maybe.

I moved a lot growing up; as in, 6 different houses and 5 different schools. Granted – I survived with all my limbs and life went on. In fact, it wasn't until I got to high school that I really started to hate moving. Before high school I was always pretty pumped to move; a new house, a new school, and new team jerseys I could wear (because I just assumed I would make the team, but that's a topic for another day).

But something changed once I graduated. I got comfortable...too comfortable, even. So, when change came knocking it felt like my life was over. Did I blow everything out of proportion because I was a narcissistic teenager? Yes. Do I still have tendencies to expect the worst case scenario because old habits are hard to break? 100% (again, another topic for another post).


But 2018 in particular made everything very real; I was out of school, had to look for a place to live and get a ‘real’ job. What no one told me about full-time work is that the majority of it is contract-based. Contract-based work means that you work as a full time employee for a set amount of time under a contract. The caveat is that you're a contract employee; so anything and everything can happen. It's like auditioning for a movie, where every contract is another callback for another audition, until Robert Downey Jr. quits and you get to be the new Iron Man.



Now don't get me wrong; my job is great, the people are even better and the skills I'm learning are ridiculously immense. If it wasn’t for this opportunity I would’ve never found my calling as a human on this planet. However, I can't help but think back to the days where the biggest changes in my life consisted of taking a different bus home from school. What I'm beginning to understand is how these changes mold us. The hard part of it all is that believing that this small garbage fire in front of you that you call your life will, sooner or later, turn into a beautiful wok of art.


In grade 9 I was tasked with making a presentation about evolution. As I procrastinated (naturally), I stumbled across the writer Hugh Prather, who wrote, "Just when I think I have learned the way to live, life changes." Not only did including this quote in my presentation get me an 'A-' on said project, thus allowing me to meet the the word count, but it also has and still resonates with me after all these years. It's like that random piece of art or furniture in your house that has no real purpose or history, but somehow your home wouldn’t be complete without it.


Every time something happens to me that brings about change in my life, I use Prather’s quote as a grounder; as my life becomes more sporadic and uncertain, these changes can seem bad or negative because things have been better previously; and that also means that it will be better in the future.



I think as we enter a new year we must welcome change and the unpredictability in order to truly move forward no matter how crazy it seems. Because if were keeping it funky, life would be unbearable if the universe didn't shake things up every so often. Let me know what change means to you. What do you want to see next year? Thanks again for reading and to end this off I present to you some Kool & The Gang. Nothing gets done by just standing on the wall so find your groove and Get Down On It. Be Good, Do Good and I'll see you guys soon.


54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Exhale

Inhale

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page